Writing

Writer Newsletters Are Changing. Promotion Is Out. Content Is In.

The traditional writer newsletter never worked for me. So I am trying something different.

Mark Starlin
5 min readJun 10, 2021

--

Many of us get them. Newsletters full of links to stories and promos for books and related merchandise. Frankly, these newsletters are usually boring and (I suspect) mostly ignored.

They require a lot of time and effort to produce. Why do writers keep sending them? Because that is what writing professionals have told them to do for years. But are they working?

Imagine if a favorite writer sent you an email with an actual story in it? [Not a link.] You would read it, wouldn’t you? It seems so obvious, but it rarely happens.

Instead of hoping readers will pursue or discover your writing online, why not send it to them?

Instead of asking people to go to Amazon and buy your book, why not send it to them one chapter at a time?

Instead of asking readers to come to you, why not go to them?

Enter Substack

Back in August of 2020, I started a Substack newsletter. My initial thought was, I have three years worth of stories wasting away in the dungeon of Medium’s

--

--